Endless Pleats and Late Nights

We have been glued to the TV in the evenings ever since the Olympics opened up in Vancouver this past weekend.  On the bright side, this has given me knitting time while I watch the events.  On the down side, I’m staying up much later than I should.

Last night, for example, the Commander finally abandoned ship, er, left the family room before the last four ice skating pairs had skated their routines.  However, my son and I stayed up to watch the battle unfold.  Who would win the gold?  Would this be the year for the Chinese teams?  With all the build-up, we really wanted to find out.  By the time the winners of gold, silver and bronze medals were determined, it was 12:20 a.m. and they hadn’t even had the awards ceremony yet.  We gave up and turned off the telly and headed to our respective beds.  Yawn!

In the meantime, I’m at the last edging of my Mara Shawl.  It’s the final pleat edge and it seems to be taking forever.  Here I am, sitting in front of the TV for hours, and I can only seem to manage about 4 rows at best.  The bug in the ointment is that the darn thing bunches up so much on the needles that I spend a great deal of time pushing and pulling stitches closer to my needle tips, even though I’m using a 40-inch cable.  The pattern calls for a 4-inch pleat and I measured after it seemed like I had knit forever on the edging and discovered I’d only managed to come up with 2 inches.  Ugh!  Back to pulling and pushing.  The only plus side to this project at the moment is that I’m still loving the yarn (Madelinetosh DK) and the color.  I know I will enjoy the shawl, too once it is done.  I just am ready for it to end.

Last night, I actually cast on for a new project just to give myself some variety.  My daughter asked me to knit her a cowl. I whipped out my notebook filled with cowl patterns faster than you could say “knitting” and had her pick out the pattern she wanted me to use.  She wants a close-fitting cowl so she picked out the “Thermis” pattern by Kris Knits.   I cast on in a 50% wool, 50% Alpaca yarn blend but now I’m pretty sure that I’m going to frog that and cast on again with an ivory yarn I bought today called “Sublime Organic Merino Wool DK.”  It’s a soft single that reminds me of Malabrigo.  The wool/alpaca blend was just a little too rough.  I think it might irritate Laura’s neck and we can’t have that.  This cowl is really the first thing she has ever asked me to knit for her.

And what am I doing tonight?  Our son and daughter-in-law are hosting an open house at our home for their prayer supporters of their missionary work.  I’ll be up in my bedroom with the dog, trying to keep her quiet and hopefully, getting some knitting done while I watch, yup….you guessed it…..the Olympics.

One Response

  1. That purple! What a lovely color.

Leave a Reply

