Blowing My Nose and Counting My Blessings

It’s Fave Friday today and even though I’ve been struggling with some irritated sinuses this week, I still can come up with five things to be thankful for amidst the tissues, saline spray, and decongestant.

1.  I’m thankful that I have the baby quilt top for my granddaughter all sewn. Now it’s just waiting to be layered with the batting and the backing and then I’ll be machine quilting it before I handsew on the binding.  I was a little worried that it wasn’t bright enough for a baby but today I found just the right fabric for the backing that is nice and bright and yet coordinates with the front colors and I found a cheerful, bright blue fabric for the binding which will also perk it up.

2.  I’m thankful that today was our monthly spinning guild meeting. I have such a good time buckling my spinning wheel into the car and heading off to meet with other spinners for several hours of spinning and chatting.  We had two new people there today so I’m no longer the “newbie.”  We had a lively time chatting about the Sheep to Shawl competition at our State Farm Show this week and then moved on to talks of trips to the Midwest and the quirks of folks from Minnesota and North Dakota.  I contributed a few anecdotes from Garrison Keillor’s podcasts and put in a good word for us Midwesterners who, although we might not be a verbose bunch, still have hearts as big as the skies above our prairies.

3.  I’m thankful for an extra bedroom to retreat to when I feel sick. I hate to disrupt the Commander’s sleep when I’m tossing and turning at night because my nose is all stuffed up so it’s nice to be able to just slip across the hall into the guestroom.  Then, if sleep eludes me, I can turn on the light, fire up my Kindle and read for awhile until I hopefully doze off.  (And no, this morning I didn’t make the bed because I suspect I’ll be right back there tonight so why bother?)

4.  I’m thankful that my Tracy Eichheim spindle arrived today. Tracy’s spindles are handmade and there is a waiting list to get one because they are great spindles, which makes them sought after.  I had ordered one with lambs on the whorl.  He hand cuts these lambs out with a scroll saw which is amazing because they look precise enough to have been laser-cut.  It’s going to be fun to practice spindle spinning with this little gem.

5.  I’m thankful that I found the chili mix today that I have been looking for. I’m hosting a luncheon this coming week and I am making chili.  Several weeks ago, I had tried this chili mix, adding a few things of my own, and it was fantastic.  So I planned to use it again for the luncheon.  But doggone it, I couldn’t find the mix at our local grocery store this time.  Today, on the way back from spinning, I stopped at another branch of the store and sure enough, there it was.  I purchased four bags of it just to be on the safe side.  I only need two for the luncheon but this way, I’ll have two more stocked up for the next  frigid days.  And you know we’re not done with winter yet, right?

What are your fave fives this week?  If you’d like to see what others are writing about this Friday, visit Susanne’s blog at Living to Tell the Story.

5 Responses

  1. Oh, I hope you’re feeling better!

    I’ve seen that chili mix but have never tried it. I’ll have to pick some up. White Chicken Chili is on my list to make today.

    Enjoy your weekend!

  2. I hope you’re over that little bug soon. Sinus problems are nasty.

    I love the quilt top – you’re a talented crafter with sewing and spinning!

    Happy weekend!

  3. I love knowing that there are still people out there hand quilting. I kind of quit because everyone was sending the quilts off for the expensive machine quilting, and I just could not keep up with it as a hobby.

    I hope you are feeling better soon!

  4. Hope you are feeling better soon! I hate nose issues that keep me up at night.

    That baby quilt is absolutely beautiful!

    Cute cute spindle. I can’t believe he did that on the scroll saw either. He is very talented.

  5. Feel better! The baby quilt is very sweet.

Leave a Reply

