That’s It In a Nutshell, er, Suitcase!

I’m feeling quite pleased with myself today.  The mystery gift that I ordered for my granddaughter has arrived, one whole day ahead of schedule.  Can you guess what it is?

I’ll give you some clues.  It’s 11 pounds, it’s portable, it folds up into this little suitcase, and it can probably be used by Mika until she is two or possibly three years old.  For size comparisons, I’ve put it up against a four-drawer bureau of mine and it doesn’t quite come up to the second drawer from the bottom.

I’d give you a demonstration of it and have the Commander take a video but then that would spoil the surprise for Mika’s parents.  So that is all I can tell you at this point.  If you want to guess, I’ll email you back to tell you if you guessed correctly or not.

In related news, when my daughter-in-law was in the hospital in labor with Mikayla, I was spinning up this yarn……and spinning up this yarn…..and spinning, well, you get the picture.  I spun all of it while we sat here in Pennsylvania during the 56 hours of labor that it took to introduce Mika to the world.   It was Bluefaced Leicester fiber purchased from Cosmic Fibers Yarn and it has become some very nice soft, squishy yarn.

I navajo-plyed this yarn  and am calling it “Oh, Happy Day” since it was indeed a happy day when we received the word that Mikayla had been born and all were doing fine.  Now my challenge will be to find something that I can knit for her out of it.  There are only 90 yards of it so I’m thinking it will probably become a hat.  And in a nice twist of fate, it will coordinate very nicely with one of the baby sweaters I already knit up for Mika.

One Response

  1. My hunch is that your granddaughter’s surprise gift is a Baby Bjorn Travel Crib Light in (thankfully not pink) blue. But that’s just a guess.

Leave a Reply

