Shivering Through My Fave Fives

I can’t believe that I forgot to do a Friday’s Fave Five post last week and I almost forgot to do one this week.  I blame it on “brain freeze.”  Honestly, it’s been so cold here that I think all my energy has been going into just staying warm.  But luckily, I happened to glance at the calendar this afternoon and realized what day  it was so here we go with my list of Fave Fives for this past week.  There’s no pattern to it this week.  It’s a real mixed bag.

1.  It’s a new year so that means I can get out the new calendars and hang them up. There is something about a brand-new calendar that just seems full of promise, don’t you think?  I buy calendars like other people buy shoes.  I just can’t get enough of them but then I run out of places to put them.  I ordered this “Spin-Off” calendar last year and have been really antsy to put it up.  I also have a “Fix-It and Forget-It” calendar that has crock-pot recipes for the different days of the week, a “Take Care of Business” calendar that is also a mouse pad and has lots of places to write down lists and notes to yourself, and a “Posters for Peace and Justice” calendar, and those are all just on our first floor.  Whee!

2.  I picked out a quilt pattern for our granddaughter and have the fabric washed and ready to cut. Since Mika is only a few weeks old, I’m not planning to make her a full-sized quilt just yet.  I think she’ll like one more her size.  So I found a pattern that has little odd-sized blocks for fun fabric prints which I’ll outline with a dark brown fabric to set them off and border with a colorful coordinating striped fabric.  I picked knitting chickens, little owls, puppy dogs, mischievous cats,  teddy bears, farm animals, and monkees for the prints.  The monkees may seem an odd choice but there might be monkees living where she’ll be moving so I thought it would be nice to put them in.  Just like a blank calendar, there is that hint of anticipation at this stage of quilt-making.  It’s like looking at a white canvas and knowing that soon something magical will be appearing on it.

3.  I finally picked a car seat for our granddaughter and it arrived in record time. My goodness, I had no idea that there were so many choices out there.  Our son and daughter-in-law are using a borrowed car seat up in Vancouver but that will be staying there so when they arrive here, they will be needing one for the baby.  I told them that we’d have one when we pick them up at the airport come February.  Well, I started to do some research up on Amazon and on the Internet, reading reviews and looking at all the different features.  Oh, my!  How does one ever decide?  To complicate things, I had to take into consideration that this baby will be flying from Canada to here and then traveling  to Texas and maybe Mexico and eventually halfway around the world and they’ll need one that isn’t too heavy to lug around but one that will  provide protection.  I also wanted to get one that could be used for longer than just her first few months.  I finally settled on this one which is a “combination” car seat.  That means that it starts out as a rear-facing car seat and then can be switched to a front-facing car seat as the baby gets older and bigger.  Fresca seems to approve.

4.  I’ve been mighty happy for this little space heater in my craft room. OK, I swiped it from our Master Bathroom because I honestly didn’t think it was being used up there and my craft/computer room is freezing.  My computer desk sits next to a window that is drafty and I don’t think we’re going to be getting a replacement window in there in the next few months.  Now I’ve got the heater aimed right at my back and it feels good as long as it is blowing on me.  When it isn’t?  I cool off pretty quickly.  Makes me think about folks who don’t even have shelter this winter.  God bless the homeless shelters and the churches who open up their facilities this time of year.

5.  I found the pineapple recipe that I was looking for ever since I tasted the dish last month. I first tasted this pineapple casserole last month at our spinning guild’s Christmas party.  It was an unusual combination of ingredients but boy, was it good.  The other spinners told me that this one spinner brought it every year.  It was her trademark recipe and she wasn’t giving it out.  Well, I really wanted to be able to make it so I did some searches on recipe sites and found several candidates.  I tried two possible versions and the last try came up a winner.  So I’m taking it to a Sunday School class party tomorrow evening where the main dish is ham.  Yum, yum!  In case you’d like to try it for yourself, here it is.  Be forewarned, it’s more like dessert and it’s rich!

Pineapple Cheese Casserole

  • 2 (20 ounce) cans pineapple tidbits, juice reserved
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 pound butter, melted
  • 2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
  • 25 buttery round crackers, crumbled (I used Ritz)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.  Butter or grease one 2 quart casserole dish.
  2. In a mixing bowl, blend together 4 tablespoons reserved pineapple juice, sugar, flour, and butter.
  3. Add pineapple and cheese.  Mix well and pour into a casserole dish.  Bake for 20 minutes.
  4. Reduce oven temperature to 300 degrees F, sprinkle the top with cracker crumbs and bake for another 20 minutes.

Note:  You can prepare this early in the morning and place it covered in the fridge and then bake it for 30 minutes before adding the cracker crumbs.  DON’T reduce the temperature for the final 20 minutes after you add the cracker crumbs.

If you’d like to see what others are blogging about for their Friday Fave Five things, visit Susanne’s site at Living to Tell the Story.

4 Responses

  1. interesting list, I especially like the looks of that recipe….yummy

  2. It is true that I’m hungry, but that recipe made my mouth water!

    I’m sure that your little granddaughter will love that blankie and carry it with her everywhere, all over the world. You did a great job, Grandma, of choosing the carseat. When The New Boy was here visiting, he used a rented seat. If Your Girl ever needs a carseat in the LA area, I can recommend a GREAT rental company; we were really impressed with them. (Weird, huh, car seat rental companies…)

    Have a happy weekend, staying warm by the heater…

  3. That is a nice carseat you picked. I had no idea you could get ones now that go from rear facing to front facing. That is something new. I’m sure they’ll really like it. You must be getting so excited to see them.

    I love calendars too but I usually end up with the “Mother’s organizers”. I like them because they have really big squares to write in.

  4. I had to laugh at the contrast between “Hot Flashed Funk” and the title of your post which starts with “shivering”, lol!

    Your recipe looks good.

Leave a Reply

