Our Totally Empty-Nest Christmas

Christmas has come and gone.  Hard to believe, isn’t it?  This was our first Christmas celebrated without any of our children home to celebrate with us.  It was a strange day, indeed.  To give you an idea of the difference just visually that having family home for the holidays can make, here is a picture of a past Christmas not too many years gone by as we waited for the family to assemble to unwrap their gifts.

Contrast that picture with the one on the right.  This was our Christmas this year.  And one of those presents wasn’t even ours.  The big one at the right is  waiting for our daughter to arrive home this coming week.  Yup, we admit it, we’re holding her gift hostage to get her to come up to see us.  I didn’t even feel like putting up the big tree this year so we put up the small aluminum tree (to my son’s expressed horror) but I kind of like it.  It looks pretty in the evening, shining in the window.  That tree is staying up until February when our son, daughter-in-law and new grandbaby arrive for a month’s visit.  Then we’ll celebrate Christmas again with some chicks in the nest.

This year the only “babies” we had at home were two fur babies.  One is our own Miniature American Eskimo, Fresca.  The other is Schatze, who we’re babysitting while her owners are traveling cross-country celebrating their recent retirement.  We had some competition while we tried to open our presents from the dogs.  They wanted to get in on the action so we had to resort to some countermeasures.  We broke out the “cigars.”  Once each dog had something of their own to chew on, they left us alone long enough to finish opening our gifts in peace.  Not that they aren’t cute as the dickens but there are times when you just want to focus on each other and not two mischievous dogs.

The Commander’s big gift this year was a wet-dry vac.  This was really a matter of self-defense for me because I got him this to preserve my good vacuum.  He was using it to vacuum up drywall dust after he’d sand down the walls when he was doing the painting in various rooms and it was clogging up my machine.  So now he can do his handyman chores around the house and use this little beauty to clean up afterwards and all should be fine.

My gift this year was a new external hard drive (1 trilobytes’ storage capacity) which is designed to be hooked up to our home network so that the Commander and I can both store files on it.  This is going to be great because I’m already on my second external hard drive, which is making suspicious noises again just like the first one did before it crashed.  Since it is the same make and model as the first and was a replacement by the company when the first crashed, I’m not even going to bother going with them again.  Forget it!  I’m going with a brand that has gotten very good reviews over the several years that I’ve been researching them.  I only went with that first brand because it was part of my initial laptop system.  Since I do so much digital scrapbooking, this is going to be a valued resource for my backups.

One of the big highlights of our day was getting phone calls from our children.  Laura and her hubby were spending Christmas at his mom’s house and it was so nice to have the chance to chat with her.  As I mentioned earlier, they’ll be coming up for the day this week and we’ll exchange presents then.  Later in the day we were able to Skype with our son and his family.  They called when Mikayla was awake so that we could see her when she was doing something other than sleeping.  Although the connection was bad and the picture was pretty broken up, we could tell that she is cute as a button and getting a lot livelier.  “Fasten your seatbelts, kids!”  Of course, I have to post a pic here of our little cutie for you to see.  This is another sleeping shot but it’s so darn cute, that I’m posting it anyway.

No doubt, she was dreaming of sugarplum fairies and all the hugs and kisses that her Nana and Opa will be lavishing upon her when she arrives in Pennsylvania.

We ended our day by watching the movie “Julie & Julia.”  What an entertaining movie.  How can you go wrong with Meryl Streep, Stanley Tucci, and Amy Adams, three performers that I really enjoy?  It all reminded me of the time I impersonated Julia Child when I created a fusion of Animal Science and Public Speaking classes with a dash of slapstick thrown in for good measure.  But that story will have to wait for my next post.  Hope you all had a blessed Christmas!

One Response

  1. Saw your blog bookmarked on Delicious. I love your site and marketing strategy.

Leave a Reply

