You’re Serving WHAT This Thanksgiving?

I was working up my menu today for the upcoming Thanksgiving week.  My brother and sister-in-law will be here for the holiday week and I wanted to get a jump on things.  Of course I had to set my priorities and that meant that I gravitated to the dessert recipes first.

Last summer at our Mystery Book Club’s annual picnic, one of the member’s brought a “to-die-for” Rum Cake.  It was unbelievably good.  I’m usually a diehard frosting fan and am not too interested in any cake that isn’t smothered in frosting.  But this cake didn’t have one speck of frosting on it and I DID NOT CARE!  It was that good.  So when I came across the recipe that she had so generously given us, I knew I had to make it next week.

However, there’s a bit of a story to this recipe.  First of all, I’m not much of a drinker.  So the joke was on me last week at our Mystery Book Club meeting when Liz passed out the recipe.  I looked it over and saw that one of the ingredients called for “teas rum.”  I asked her if it was a special brand of rum or would any type do.  She just looked at me.

“I mean, does it have to be this “teas rum” or can it be a generic light rum or dark rum?” I tried to clarify.

“That’s a “teaspoon” of rum,”  she said, starting to laugh.  “I just abbreviated it.”

“Oh, my,” I laughed.  “I’ve always seen ‘teaspoon’ either written out or abbreviated as ‘tsp.’  I just thought it must be a brand of rum.”

“You’re not a drinker, are you,” she laughed.

“Nope,” I replied. And by now the rest of the group was getting in on the joke and joining in on the “teas…ing.”  (groan)

This morning, as I set the recipe into my special pile, I glanced again at it and noticed another little anomaly.  The instructions called for me to “line the bottom of the pan with MUTTS.”   Say what?  I’ve heard of 4 and 20 blackbirds baked in a pie but never dogs baked in a rum cake before.  So THAT was the secret ingredient.

Don’t worry, Fresca, the Wonder Dog!  I’m sticking with rum instead!

For those of you brave enough to try this killer recipe, here it is:

Liz’s Killer Rum Cake:

  • 1 Duncan Hines Butter Cake Mix
  • 3 1/2 – oz. Vanilla Instant Pudding
  • 1 Tblsp. rum
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/2 c. water
  • 1/2 c. oil
  • 1/2 c. pecans, chopped
  • 1 well-greased and floured tube or bundt pan

Line the bottom of the pan with the “nuts.” (mutts optional)  Mix cake mix and pudding.  Add water, oil, eggs, and rum.  Pour batter on top of nuts.  Bake at 325 degrees for 45-50 minutes.

Hot Rum Glaze:

  • 1 stick butter
  • 1 c. sugar
  • 1/4 tsp. rum (or just a splash)
  • 1/4 c. water

Boil and add to cake when removed from oven.  Pour over cake while still in pan.  Let stand and cool for 30 minutes before removing to cake dish.

 

Leave a Reply

