Fave Five Friday and I’m Alive

Friday_fave_five_Tamara smallSeems fitting on this anniversary of the 9/11 tragedy to start off our Fave Five Friday with the realization that it’s a good day when you wake up.  Sometimes we take that gift for granted.  But especially today, I’m keenly aware that there are many families that are facing today with loved ones whose lives were cut short by violence.  And violence reaches far beyond the events of 9/11.   It certainly keeps me ever mindful of the need to pray for peace and the need to reach out in love, not hate to those around me.

But today IS Friday and it is time to list five things that I’m grateful for this past week.  So here goes:

Lendrum and Merino Silk1.  I am spinning up a lighter-than-air blend of Merino/Silk roving from The Sanguine Gryphon. I’ve never tried spinning anything with silk in it before.  I always thought I’d need a table charkha to do that.  But I’ve been pleasantly surprised to be able to spin up this blend of merino/silk which is 65%/35% on my Lendrum.  The colorway is called “Fire in the Evening” and it is gorgeous.  Even better, the fiber is light as a feather which makes spinning it like you are spinning a bit of down.  Definitely a fun experience.

2.  Still on the fiber theme, I started a new knitting project yesterday. I cast on to makeMondo Cable Start a Mondo Cable pattern from Chic Knits.  I’m using yarn from Creatively Dyed in her Woodbrook line called “Olinda.”  I just love the colors.  I’ve had this yarn in my stash for quite awhile now just waiting to find the right project for it.  I’ve also had a picture of the skeins on my computer as wallpaper and the sight of all that color never fails to cheer me up.  Dianne, of Creatively Dyed, has such a knack for bringing unusual combinations of color to her yarn.  I think that her own colorful, happy personality really comes through in her art.

Knees and Shawl3.  “Something’s happening with my knees!” That statement has been part of our family lore for years now.  It all started when my mom uttered those words as we were in the middle of a tour of the House of Seven Gables and climbing up a steep set of stairs.  Mom’s knees froze up and here we all were, stuck behind her with nowhere to go in this steep stairwell.  Let me tell you, after all that crawling around on the floor to pin out my Girasole shawl to block, my knees have been “talking” to me.  But it has made me truly grateful for how they have cooperated with me for 60 years now.  Those knees have put up with a lot of abuse, too….having to carry around extra weight.  I’m happy to report that I’m starting to feel like I can trust them again to support me without buckling.  Good thing, too, because it will soon be time to get back down on that floor to unpin the shawl.

4.  Scanning photos of all our family pets over the years, I realize how blessed I’ve been by the manyPics of Pets animals who’ve been part of our lives. I’ve been scanning these pictures so I could put photos in the journal I’m writing for my upcoming grandbaby.  Right now I’ve been telling her about all of the pets I’ve had in my lifetime.  Once I started writing about them, I realized “Wow, I’ve had a lot of animals.”  It’s been a lot of fun thinking back over all of them, starting with Josephine, the stray cat who wandered into my life when I was around 10 years old.  She would only eat scrambled eggs and raw cut up beef kidneys.  Such characters!  And such stories.  Even though it has been tough when each one has passed on, my life has been the richer because of them.

Phone Closeup5.  Now that we have Verizon’s FiOS, our phones have Caller ID. I probably should not admit this, but I have to tell you that I LOVE having this feature.  I can’t tell you the number of times I’ve jumped up from what I was engrossed in to answer the phone, only to discover that it was some guy trying to see if I’d want to sell our timeshare or someone wanting to sell us something.  Ugh!  And we are on the “Do Not Call” List, which I always remind them of but before I can get their company’s name, they hang up.  Anyway, now I can just glance at the phone and if it is someone I want to talk to, I pick up.  If it is someone who can wait or is unidentified, they can leave a message.  Thank you, Verizon!

If you’d like to see what others are writing about for their Fave Five lists, visit Susanne’s site at Living to Tell the Story.

2 Responses

  1. Sounds like a fun week with your knitting. I too love caller ID. Especially when you are with other people or expecting a call. Just makes things easier.

  2. The mental picture of a bunch of you all stuck in a stairway brought a chuckle although I’m sure it was very hard on your mom at the time.

    We love caller ID and wouldn’t not have it now.

    Looks like you are doing lots of exciting things in the yarn and knitting department.

Leave a Reply

