Lamaze Recollections

Laura at Shower_0001Just read an email from our son that mentioned he and Laura will be starting Lamaze classes next month.  Oh boy, does THAT bring back memories.  We took Lamaze classes with both our babies.  I highly recommend them.  But I remember that first night of class….looking around at all the protruding tummies and hovering hubbies.  We were a sight!  For most of us, this was our first pregnancy.  We didn’t have a clue what to expect and that was probably a good thing.

I vividly remember the instructor telling us about the possibility of our water breaking as it got close to time to deliver.  She mentioned that we might find ourselves in some public place when this happened.  Then she went on to relate a funny story about a former student of hers who was in a grocery store walking down the aisle with the salad dressings and pickles, etc. when her water broke.  Not missing a beat, she grabbed a pickle jar and let it drop to the floor.  “Oops,” she exclaimed as juice splashed over the floor and over her.  “Clean-up in Aisle 5,” she cheerily announced as she grabbed her horrified husband and whispered under her breath, “We have to get to the hospital, NOW!”  I would not have had such presence of mind.  Thankfully, my water broke in the privacy of my own home so I didn’t have to go to the hospital smelling like vinegar.

The next thing I remember about Lamaze classes was the way the instructor proved to us that the seemingly strange techniques she was teaching us were going to work to help control pain, er, discomfort.  First, she had our husbands grip our leg right above our knee and squeeze as hard as they could.  Ouch!  Then she had us do one of the breathing techniques that she had taught us and as we did those, she told our husbands to squeeze our legs again just as they had done before.  Gee, I hardly felt a thing.  It was amazing.  That certainly went a long way to give me confidence in what I was learning.

Of course, when the time came that I actually was in labor (24 hours of hard labor, I might add), I did my breathing like a champ, in between the times I was yelling at my husband, “You can have this baby yourself.  I’m going home.  This isn’t fun anymore.”

Yes, Lamaze is a good thing to learn.  It gives you both something to do as you wait for that little one to arrive.  Incidentally, thanks for all the good suggestions for Grandma names.  We’ve decided on Oma and Opa, which is German and Dutch for Grandma and Grandpa.  And my soon-t0-be 96 yr. old mother, who will be one of the baby’s great-grandmothers, is going to be known as “Grandma Toots.”   That’s definitely her.

One Response

  1. Hi Dee,

    I so enjoyed reading about your trip and your reconnecting!! I too love old photos. Your comments were right on!! Hope all is well. When is the baby due? Christmas? I just got back from a California trip to see Andy. He took me to Vegas, baby, Vegas!!! What a place. I am still processing it. Have you ever been there? Kris

Leave a Reply

