Fave Five Favorites of My Week

Friday_fave_five_Tamara smallIt’s Friday.  Where in the world has the week gone?  I guess since we were gone all last week on vacation that this week has whizzed by with me playing catch up.  But it is time once again for Friday’s Fave Five.  This week’s list is going to be a straightforward listing of five favorite things from my week so here goes:

Girasole Blob1.  I am FINALLY knitting the edging of the Girasole circular shawl. I’m showing you a picture on the right of the shawl in all its unblocked glory.  Yup, it looks like a  turquoise blob, doesn’t it?  Totally unimpressive and well, just a little perplexing, I’m sure, to those not familiar with a circular shawl.  Hey, I’m not even familiar with circular shawls so I gotta tell you, it’s taking all of my knitting faith to believe that this blob is going to turn into a lovely work of art.  But I’m pressing on towards theGirasole Edging goal, which is to have this thing finally finished.  So last night I finally got to start on the edging.  Considering that there are over 600 stitches on my circular needle, I was thinking that the edging (consisting of a 6-row pattern for each little “peak”) was going to take forever if it only called for one live stitch to be matched up with one edging motif.  Happily, you get to match up TWO live stitches with every edging repeat.  Oh boy, that means I only have to knit 300+ of these little buggers.  The end is in sight.  Repeat after me, the end is in sight!

Lorna's Laces Whidbey2.  These lovely skeins of Lorna’s Laces yarn arrived in the mail. They are a special colorway that was designed for the recent Sock Summit and the colorway is named Whidbey Island.  I think the colors are to reflect the lovely area north of Seattle.  Can’t you just see the water, the blue sky, the trees, and mountains in those colors?  Having spent a lovely time in the Seattle/Vancouver area this spring, this yarn is bringing back some great memories.

Tub of Old Photos3.  Scanning old photographs for digital heritage albums. I posted recently about the fun I’ve been having scanning old photographs of my ancestors and editing/identifying them in preparation for scrapbooking them digitally into heritage albums.  Well, today I just found another big tub filled with old family photographs.  Oh, boy!  Can’t wait to go through these and see what goodies I’ll find.  Just opening the tub, I already have found a treasure.  On the top was a photograph of my father as a young boy of probably about 4 years old.  He’s sitting on the steps with his sister.  Hmm, they both seem to have pointed ears.  Maybe I AM related to Spock, after all.

Baby Journal4.  Starting a journal for our first grandbaby. Our little granddaughter is due on Dec. 31 and I have finally started the journal that I’ve been meaning to begin.  I want to capture my thoughts of how I felt when we first heard that she was coming, my hopes and dreams for her, some of the things that were happening in the months when she was developing, etc.  I hope to include ads from the paper, maybe some headlines, pictures, oh…the possibilities are endless.  The biggest challenge has been trying to figure out at what age level to write this for.  I finally decided to just write as though I am writing to her as an adult or fully comprehending young teen.  I think as the years go by, she will be able to read this and get a little glimpse into who her grandma is and how much she was loved before she ever was born.

5.  Reliving the fun of retirement through the eyes of a newly-retired friend. I’ve been enjoying the phone calls from a friend who is newly retired.  She is at that stage where she is still trying to comprehend that it’s ok if she is still in her PJs at 9 a.m.  or sipping coffee with friends with no deadlines to meet at 10:30.  I love her enthusiasm.  And it has given me a  renewed appreciation for how blessed I am to be able to stay at home.  I also have to laugh when she tells me that she fills up her day so fast that she can’t believe how quickly it goes by.  Oh boy, do I know that feeling.  It always amazes me how quickly 8 a.m. can turn into 5 p.m.

What have you been enjoying this week?  To read about others’ fave fives, visit Susanne’s blog at Living to Tell the Story.

7 Responses

  1. Your shawl looks pretty. Lots of work!
    Those skeins ARE lovely.
    I can hardly wait to get back into my picture stuff, one day hopefully soon. You have a great project going! And I love, love the journal idea for your granddaughter. She definitely IS loved already.

  2. I love scanning old pic´s too! It just takes soooo much time!
    Hope you have a good weekend. Great fave five!

  3. So excited about that baby journal – that’ll be an amazing gift to little Reepicheep (who, by the way, has started waking me up at night with some mighty impressive kicks!)

  4. This is my first visit to your blog and oh what kindred spirits we are! I have a 2 year old granddaughter that is the joy of my life, love scrapbooking and card making and always have several projects on the needles. I will most certainly be back. 🙂

  5. Your knitting looks like a lot of fun. It is amazing how fast our days can go by when we don’t have structure, but its fun too.

  6. That shawl is going to be gorgeous!

    What a sweet thing to do for your coming grand daughter. It will certainly be something she treasures.

  7. Scanning pictures – I’m doing the same only for a slideshow at my son’s wedding in 2 weeks. I really like your idea too – so good to have the family history documented.

    Your shawl is lovely!

    How exciting to have a little granddaughter on the way! Congratulations!

    Thanks for dropping by my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

