Top Five Places to Celebrate Our 30th Anniversary

AAA Tour BooksIt’s Friday and that means it’s time for one of my Friday Fave Five lists.  My husband and I recently celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary.  Actually, it passed pretty quietly because we were holding off on doing anything big to celebrate, thinking that we’d probably save our pennies to go on a big trip overseas to visit Jason and family when they move far away on the mission field.    That’s still the plan.  But I just found out that my hubby has to use some vacation time and he’s given me the green light (I think) to come up with a plan to do go somewhere in the more immediate future to celebrate.  That got me to thinking about where I’d want to travel, setting the parameters that it would NOT be overseas since that trip will be coming up after the kids have moved.  Here is what I came up with.

Road Atlas1.  Prince Edward Island – We took a rather disastrous road trip up through the Maritime Provinces years ago (it rained the entire trip) but I loved that area.  I would so enjoy driving back up through Maine to take the ferry over to Nova Scotia and on to P.E. I.  It would be even better if we could see some of the sights in sunshine.

2.  Canadian Rockies by Rail – I’ve always wanted to see the Lake Louise area and stay at Banff.  And what better way to get there than to go by train?  I traveled all over Europe by train and I’d love to get on the rails again.  Then, if we made it as far as the Canadian Rockies, I really think we should continue on over to Vancouver again just to say “hi” to Jason and Laura, don’t you?

Texas Map3.  San Antonio and the Texas Hill Country – Just can’t stay away from Texas.  I love that area of the country even in the heat of the summer.  A nice trip down to San Antonio and the Austin area would be grand. I don’t particularly want to fly down there again this summer but a train trip would be fun.  Probably won’t happen but a girl can dream, can’t she?

4.  Minnesota – Hey, the Land of 10,000 Lakes may not be on YOUR list but it sure is on my list.  I’d love to get back to my old stomping grounds.  I have a lot of relatives back there that I haven’t seen in ages.  It would also give us the chance to do some genealogical research on my side of the family for a change.  There is nothing like the Midwestern prairies to put me in a great state of mind.

DSCF00245.  New Mexico or Charleston, SC – My last choice is a tie.  I’d love to go visit the deserts of New Mexico and then head up into the Sandia Mountains to Albuquerque.  My family did this trip when I was a teen, going across Route 66 part of the way.  For a kid from the Midwest, it was the closest thing to being in a foreign country that I’d ever encountered at the time.   But I’d also love to get back to Charleston, South Carolina.  We used to live in Summerville, SC and I really loved living in that area.  It would be fun to revisit some of the sights there and have a nice bowl of she-crab soup again.

So what should it be?  Stay tuned and I’ll let you know if we pick any of these places.  I wouldn’t hold your breath, though, if I were you.  Sometimes my hubby casually mentions something and I read a lot more into it then I should.  You’d think after 30 years of marriage that I’d learn not to do that, wouldn’t you?  But what fun would that be?

To read what others are writing about for their Friday’s Fave Five, visit Susanne’s blog at Living to Tell the Story.

8 Responses

  1. Sounds like a lot of great choices to me. The only place I’ve been is Charleston, SC, and I would love to go back there again. So I vote # 5. 🙂

  2. Well, I’d vote for Southern California, say, San Diego! But your choices may vary. I’m thinking PEI and Newfoundland from your list. That’s my vote.

  3. Well, PEI of course 🙂 – but don’t you hate it when it rains on your vacation! I guess there’s no guarantees.

    I wouldn’t take the train across the Rockies right now – I saw on the news that Viarail may go on strike soon.

    South Carolina is a lovely place too.

    It’s fun to plan trips.

  4. It would be Prince Edward Island if I were choosing 😉

  5. they all sound great to me

  6. Lake Louise and Banff are absolutely gorgeous! And if you are there you have to throw in Jasper too! I’ve never gone through there on train, but it sounds like it would be absolutely wonderful!

  7. Oh and Happy Belated Anniversary! Many, many best wishes to you and your hubby!

  8. Ooooh! I like the Banff idea!

Leave a Reply

