Shoulda, Coulda, Woulda!

Handspun Yarn 007I returned from Texas on Saturday armed with a fresh appreciation of those cooler Northeastern temperatures and bearing a fresh batch of baby shower pictures on my digital camera.  It was wonderful spending time with my daughter-in-law and her family but it was also good to be back home.

On Sunday afternoon, I hunkered down at the computer to do some photo editing.  I don’t know about you, but I can get lost for hours working on my digital photos in the scrapbooking software that I use.  There were some great shots, too, of Laura at her baby shower.

I took a little break mid-afternoon and was reading in the living room when I heard a loud buzzing coming from the back of the house.  I followed the sound back to my computer/craft room.  It was coming from my external hard drive.  Hmmm!  I thought maybe it was just vibrating and wondered if it wasn’t sitting entirely flat on my desk.  No!  All seemed to be in order.  I tried putting the laptop to sleep.  Didn’t make any difference.  So I yelled for my hubby, the computer guru and went back to my book.  However, he was in there for quite a long time…..not a good sign.  In fact, he made several trips up and down to HIS computer room which also didn’t bode well.  Finally he announced that my hard drive had crashed.  Crashed?  As in, kaput?  Yup!

I’ve never been sucker-punched but I kind of think I know how it must feel.  Friends, all of my photos were stored on that hard drive.  When I had made the switch to a laptop, I had decided not to clutter it up with memory-hogging photo files and had purchased a high-capacity external drive to hold my photos.  My photo scrapbooking software has a “Memory Vault” which we had mapped to the external hard drive.  It also had built-in reminders to back up my photos.  We did back them all up when we first set up my laptop and it took most of the day.  Subsequently, I had been lax about backing up more recent photos and the last message I had ignored had said something about “3800 photos needing to be backed up.”  Yikes!

Yesterday we took the hard drive to the Geek Squad at Best Buy to see if they could recover the data.  Nada!  So we agreed to have them send it off to their lab to see if the lab would have any better luck.  Just in case you’ve never gone through any of this, the cost for data recovery is incredibly high.  Think “I could buy another computer for the cost of this” high.  So we’ve only authorized them to try data recovery at the first (cheapest) tier.  It will be about a week before I’ll know if they are able to retrieve my photos.  When we came home, we checked the laptop and found that all of the digital scrapbook pages that I had been working on had, by some lucky fluke, been saved to my laptop so I was able to back those up to DVDs.  I also have some of the more recent photos saved to my picture folders on my laptop but they are lower pixel quality since I sent them there in anticipation of posting them to Flickr or Facebook and didn’t send them in their highest quality format.

Lesson learned?  Back up everything frequently.  My brother goes so far as to back up files and photos to an external hard drive which he then unplugs and keeps in a fireproof safe.  If his house burned down, theoretically he’d still have his data.  In this Digital Age, it is wise to have duplicate copies of everything.

2 Responses

  1. hope you get it back…

  2. Go to mozy.com to backup all your files. A great company and I am not just saying that because Nathan was the one millionth customer.

Leave a Reply

