Glutton for Punishment

Girasole Readiness

I have SO many projects waiting in the wings to be knitted up and quite a few projects that are in various stages of completion. You’d think that I would concentrate on finishing up the things that I’ve already started, wouldn’t you? Well, you’d be wrong. I’ve been eyeing the Girasole pattern by Brooklyn Tweed for some time and wondering if it was something that I’d ever be able to knit.

Well, along came Sheri from the Loopy Ewe who just happened to mention in her blog that she was challenging us to knit along with her as she begins her SECOND Girasole.   You can see some lovely pictures of her first Girasole going through the blocking process here.  If you scroll down to her June 3 and June 5 blog entries, you’ll be able to read all about the Girasole Knitalong details.    That was really all the extra impetus I needed to get me on the Girasole bandwagon.  I DO love a good knitalong.

The pattern is written up to give you the option of making a shawl or a blanket.  The pattern designer used fingering weight for the shawl, which is another plus for me.  I prefer to knit lace in a fingering weight rather than struggling to knit with yarn that is the equivalent of a fine string but hey, to each his own, right?    I moseyed over to the Loopy Ewe to pick out what yarn I wanted to use and settled on this gorgeous Dream in Color Starry in the colorway “Blue Lagoon.”   Next I located a nice tutorial on beginning a circular shawl since I’ve always knitted rectangular or triangular shawls up to this point.  Now I think I’m ready to cast on and give it a “go.”  I will try to post about my progress from time to time so that you can see how I’m doing (and to keep myself accountable). Why not join us and start your own Girasole?

For an extra bit of fun today, Clara Parkes, the author of The Knitter’s Book of Wool has come up with a fun little quiz called Which Ewe are You .  I took it and found out that I’m a Shropshire. Sounds good to me.

One Response

  1. I’m with you! I’ve decided to dive in and make this one my first circular patterns and charted patterns. I’m thinking of using it as christening shawl.

Leave a Reply

