Mulling, Pondering and Points In-Between

It’s been a busy last few days in the old brain as I’ve been mulling over several writing projects and one upcoming speaking engagement. The speaking engagement is a bit of a challenge to ponder because I don’t know yet what subject I’m supposed to be speaking on. I only know that it is going to be a women’s conference, I’m the last speaker, and I think I’m supposed to tie it all together. Of course, lack of details has never stopped my brain from going into overdrive and I’ve already come up with an approach I’d like to take. The trick will be to wait and see if that is the approach that God is nudging me towards. “Aye, there’s the rub,” as the old playwright used to say.

mom-march-2009

In the meantime, I’ve had some distractions to keep me moving along on terra firma. I visited with my mom at the nursing home. We’re over halfway through a Richard Peck book and I must say, I’m enjoying it, even if no one else is. I read aloud to Mom at each visit since she has lost most of her eyesight and I love to do the different voices of the characters in the stories. Peck has some great characterizations in this book, which is written at probably a 5th or 6th grade level. The language is peppered with Midwestern colloquialisms which are a hoot to read. Sometimes I’ll glance up at the open door of Mom’s room and notice other residents gathered about in the hall, listening. Since I tend to really “get into” the characters, I usually take Mom down to the little library at the home so I won’t disturb her sleeping roommate. I’m always delighted to welcome any residents who wander in to join my little audience.

triple-choclate-chip-cookies

When I got home today, I was feeling bad for one of my relatives who has experienced a little heartache recently. So I baked a batch of triple chocolate lover’s cookies. Since this relative is in another state, I figured I might as well eat some for him, by proxy…as it were. At least that’s what I told myself. I only hope my hips don’t grow like Pinocchio’s nose or I’m in big trouble. I rather doubt my relative felt any better but I sure did.
jabbersocky-voilet

The mail brought another welcome distraction. Would you look at this yarn? This is Liberty’s Yarn JabberSocky which is 420 yards of 75% wool and 25% nylon. It’s superwash, too. The softness of this yarn and the lovely colors were enough to tear me away from the cookies and get me busy entering my stash up on Ravelry. You can find Liberty’s Yarn Etsy’s shop here http://www.etsy.com/shop.php?user_id=6057611.

luciana-closeup

3 Responses

  1. Dee, you have all that has made your Mom special plus some special qualities and talents of your own. I know that she must be very proud of you, and you have been a very special daughter to her.

  2. Dee, You have a great nack for writing and I enjoy reading Hot-Flash Funk . I check it often and can keep up on what is going on in your life. Keep it up please

  3. Hi Dorothy. Thanks for the updates on your Mom.
    She looks pretty good in the picture.
    I have so many memories of growing up together. Sure looks different from “the other side” doesn’t it.
    Remember the Beatles first Ed Sullivan show?
    So many times at First Baptist, Girl Scouts, and our families getting together. Climbing out the bathroom window at the church.
    Be sure and mention to your Mom that I am thinking of her and have never had a better Birthday Party than the own she gave me at the restaurant in Flint.
    I am enjoying my first grand daughter: Sophia Aiello.
    Born November 16, 2007.
    She has bright red hair.
    Love and keep up the up-dates, Virginia

Leave a Reply

