Fresca, The Canine Hair Dispenser

cm-yappy-fresca

If you own or have ever owned a Nordic breed dog, you know what I’m talking about when I tell you that Fresca, the Wonder Dog is “blowing” her coat. For those of you who are not familiar with that term, let me explain. Twice a year, dogs that are considered to be Nordic breeds like Samoyed, Husky, and American Eskimo tend to shed their dense undercoats in large clumps of hair. It’s good for the dogs as they approach the warmer months but it’s a real challenge for the homeowner. It’s pretty common at our house to see white, hairy tumbleweeds rolling across the floor and to be frequently picking Fresca hair out of our eyes, noses, and mouths during this time.

fresca-with-grooming-tools

The other day, I got out my grooming arsenal and went to work on Fresca’s left side. She doesn’t make this easy because she thinks I’m playing a game with her when I try to brush her. Consequently, she flips her bottom around to face me or runs along the back of the couch and then turns and runs in the other direction while I get my swipes in with the brush as I can. If I get a little too exuberant with the curry comb (can you tell I use to have a horse?), she flops over onto her back with her legs up in the air. I’ve had to adopt all sorts of innovative holds to keep her in one spot long enough to work out the loose hair in a small section. So after working on an area about 5 inches by 5 inches square, this was my haul……a big, fluffy ball of fur.

I used to save all this Fresca undercoat in plastic baggies with the idea that I was going to use it to spin up some doggy yarn which would have been incredibly warm. However, my children kept protesting and regarding everything I knit for them with extreme distrust so I finally decided to just throw it away. I figure I get quite a bit of her fur in my knitting anyway just due to the fact that my clothes are usually covered in dog hair. If we ever move further north though, I’m definitely spinning it up.

grooming-tools-with-hair

For now, I’ll keep my grooming tools at the ready. There is my undercoat rake, the wide-tooth comb, the shedding blade, and the heavy-duty stripper. Standing by in the wings are always my rubber broom and the yellow pet hair remover sponge to get the hair gathered up after it’s off the dog. Believe me, there have been times when I’ve been tempted to take the vacuum cleaner to her but I’ve resisted the urge. Ah, Fresca! It’s a good thing that you’re a cutie!

Leave a Reply

