Friday’s Fave Five Wished-For Inventions in 2009

friday_fave_five_tamara-small1

It’s time for Friday’s Fave Five! With all the doom and gloom we’ve been hearing this week, I thought I’d ponder a bit on five things I hope someone invents in 2009 to bring a little good news into our lives.

1. “Happy Pills” that will be offered as an option to the patient BEFORE any medical procedure that involves slicing, dicing, or invasive maneuvering, to include the insertion of IV’s. Believe me, this would go a long way to ease the mind of anyone who fears going to the doctor. I have been prepared for surgery WITHOUT the benefit of such pills and I’ve been prepared for surgery after swallowing such a pill. In the former case, the technician that accompanied my gurney practically had to pry my fingers off the ceiling tiles but in the latter case, I don’t even remember anything after I swallowed the pill until I woke up in the recovery room. I MUCH prefer the latter scenario.

2. “Fat Pills” that will negate the intake of sugar in all its forms and block the absorption of fat without giving you the trots, addicting you, or otherwise harming your health and psyche.

3. A body scanner in EVERY fabric store that will scan a patron’s physique and then pump out patterns the patron selects that are drafted to exactly fit the patron’s body. I know this doesn’t help non-sewers but hey, this is MY wish list so I’m going to be selfish here.

4. Clean, affordable, and readily accessible cars that will get an average of 50 mpg in the city and more on the open road. As long as we’ve been making cars in America and as long as we’ve known about the need to come up with something like this, it’s disgraceful that we’re still fiddling around, trying to make this happen.

5. A standard, affordable DNA test that your doctor will administer as part of your annual physical exam. With the advent of some pretty remarkable genetic testing available on the human genome, you and your doctor can find out what diseases you have an increased risk of coming down with in your lifetime. This could be just the incentive you need to change your lifestyle. And you and your doctor can work together to tailor a health plan that will work to avoid potential problems. Such companies as 23andMe https://www.23andme.com/ can identify and interpret 600,000 genetic markers. They can even identify medications that would be very harmful for you to take based on your unique genetic makeup.

Hey, it’s Friday and a girl can dream, can’t she? Some of these could be closer than you think. Check out Susanne’s blog http://susannesspace.blogspot.com/2009/02/fridays-fave-five-25.html to see other Fave Five links and posts.

3 Responses

  1. THose are great! I am with you all the way! They do have “happy pills”, by the way, but you have to ask for them 😉 I take them for other symptoms and so my family won’t be unhappy with me!

  2. I’d like to find a good safe herbal sleeping remedy for non sleeping babies! If I did, I’d be a millionaire over night! And my grandson would sleep a little more and my dd would get a decent night’s sleep.

  3. LOL. Hear, hear to the fat pills!

Leave a Reply

