Pandora Collecting Fun

pandora-bag

It all began with an innocent comment on one of the groups I follow up in Ravelry. Someone asked if anyone collected Pandora bracelets. I had never heard of them before so asked a few questions. Apparently one of the virtues of a Pandora bracelet is that the beads/charms are designed in such a way that they don’t catch on your knitting. I was also surprised at the following that these bracelets seemed to have. Being a curious creature, I had to go see what all the hubbub was about.

A quick Google search took me to the Pandora http://www.pandora-jewelry.com/US.aspx website where I discovered a modern take pandora-bracelet on the old charm bracelet. These little Danish imports are sleek and modern and altogether addicting. You can go ritzy, glitzy, minimalist, or some combination of the three depending upon what beads you add to your bracelet. But the first order of business is to pick the bracelet of your choice, because this is what you will be putting your beads on.

crazy-clip-and-love-blouse

Once you’ve got the bracelet picked out, you begin collecting the beads. There are sterling silver beads, gold beads, sterling silver beads with gold accents, beads with gems, dangle beads, and glass beads. You are only limited by your budget, your taste, and your imagination. You also can include special beads called “clips” which fit over certain segments of your bracelet and serve to keep your beads contained within one spot on the bracelet. And there are “spacers” which act as fillers between beads to create a pattern or contrast between your charms. In this picture, I have a clip and a bead called the “love blouse” which I wanted because it looked like a knitted sweater.

pandora-roses-leaves-cat-and-clip

Some people create Pandora bracelets based on certain color themes using glass beads or enameled beads to create the splashes of color. Many add beads that represent interests or events in their lives. My beads have been chosen so far to represent my interests or things that are important in my life. The rose bead reminds me of my sister-in-law, Rose. The cat bead reminds me of the seven cats that shared my life over the years.

suitcase-travel-breast-cancer-ribbon

The breast cancer awareness ribbon was a Valentine’s Day present from my hubby. This happens to be an example of a dangle bead. It still threads onto your bracelet but the charm dangles from the silver bead. Next to it is a suitcase to remind me of all my travels through the years and to remind me of my son and daughter-in-law who will be traveling to faraway places in the course of their work.

I have a lot more room to fill up on my Pandora bracelet and there are no shortage of beads to choose from to help me fill up the space. One very nice thing about having a bracelet like this is that your spouse and grown children will never be at a loss as to what to give you because they can always find another bead to add to the bracelet. Make up a wish list and email it to them or use the “Universal Wish List” feature on Amazon (more about that on a future post). One online vendor that I’ve used and am very happy with is Little Treasure Trove at http://little-treasure-trove.com/home.php where you can see finished bracelets to help you visualize how different combinations of beads and spacers will look. If you find one you like, you can click on it and the website will display all the beads that are on the bracelet, their individual prices, and the details for each one. They also have a “build your bracelet” feature that is very nice AND a wish list feature that will let you email your list to friends and family.

bracelet-on-arm

Don’t say I never helped enable you. Go forth and collect!

2 Responses

  1. Oh Dee…I told you you’d get hooked fast!!!!! I see you picked up the little “sweater” too. Too cute!

  2. You were so right. I blame it on you and Tonya.

Leave a Reply

