It’s a Fondle the Yarn Day!

It was the best of days today. Not only did I get a clean bill of health at my annual cancer checkup (hooray), but I also got a box in the mail from my favorite yarn vendor, The Loopy Ewe http://www.theloopyewe.com/ which promised to be full of fibery goodies.  It did not disappoint.

dragonfly-fiber-azaleaFirst out of the box was a skein from a new to the Loopy Indie Dyer, Dragonfly Fibers.  This is their Dragonsock yarn which is 100% superwash merino.  It’s a double plied yarn with 390 yards to a skein.  Doesn’t that color remind you of springtime in Charleston, SC?  I look at it and think of azaleas which just happens to be the name of the colorway.  Considering the way the wind is howling right now outside my window, I could use a little of that springtime in my craft room.

Next up is Fiesta’s Baby Boom yarn.  It’s kind of a cross between fingering weight and sport weight yarn.  Dare I say that it is as soft as a baby’s behind?  Well, it is!  The colorway is “Reflection.”  When I look at it, it makes me think of Alpine fiesta-baby-boom-reflectionmountain stream run-off in the spring when the water is that icy blue and the snow is still sitting in patches beside the banks. There are 220 yards of yarn in a skein and since I just bought one yard, I’m thinking I might knit up a small scarf or a cowl with this.

fiesta-ballet-burnished-redFiesta Ballet is a new yarn to me.  Frankly, I can’t keep my hands off of it.  It is sooooo soft.  Fiber content is 50% superfine Alpaca and 50% tencel.    You can see the halo effect from the Alpaca and the shine has got to be from the Tencel.  Can’t wait to knit this up and I’m thinking it would make a lovely shawlette or lacy scarf with the 350 yards in the skein.  I think the drape is going to be very nice and lend itself to a lacy fabric.

Last, but not least, is a skein from one of my favorite dyers, The Sanguine Gryphon.  This is her Kypria line and the color is called “Catching Me Bride.”  It’s a big, squishy skein of 466 generous yards of fingering weight yarn.  The composition is 70% sanguine-gryphon-krypia-cathing-the-bridesuperwash merino wool, 20% bamboo, and 10% nylon.  This is one of those yarns that you just have to hold up to your face and cuddle with.  It would make a neat cowl but I think I’ll be using it for a pair of socks, if I don’t squeeze it to death first.

I just LOVE getting yarn in the mail.  Don’t you?

Leave a Reply

