Boys and Their Toys

I was as snug as a bug under the covers this morning dreaming of white cream-filled donuts with peanut butter frosting when I was jolted awake by a thumping bass sound. My first thought was that my CPAP machine had gone awry so I fixed a baleful eye on that but it seemed to be functioning properly. In the meantime, the noise was continuing right outside our front windows…….whawh, whawh, whawh!

Opening both eyes now, I sat up and looked toward the window. It was still dark, for goodness sakes. Had there been a water main break in the night necessitating an emergency repair? I fumbled for the clock and checked the time. It was 6:30 a.m. The noise was starting to sound familiar. Could it be….Naw, he wouldn’t, would he? It WAS! My husband was running our snowblower at 6:45 in the morning.

I really wanted to close my eyes and get back to those donuts but that awful racket just wouldn’t let me. “It must have really snowed a lot,” I thought. “There must be at least a foot of snow for George to be out there at this hour blowing snow.”

Our BIG blizzard.

Our BIG blizzard.

It was no use trying to go back to sleep so I figured I might as well get up and see what Mother Nature had dumped on our doorstep. I fumbled for my bathrobe and stumbled down the stairs to the front door. When I opened it, this is what I saw. What in the world? There was only about 3 inches of snow out there. Maybe the wind had blown most of the snow in other directions. I swung my head to look out towards the front. Nope! Still only about 3 inches of snow. I was fairly surprised though that there wasn’t an angry but sleepy mob out in the street shaking their fists at the snowblower.

"Almost" Snowbound

Almost Snowbound

I made myself a cup of coffee and sat down, wondering how long it would be before we received a phone call from an irate neighbor. Thankfully, it wasn’t long before George finished up and came inside. “Honey, what were you thinking?” I asked. “Do you realize what time it is?”

“About 7 a.m.?” he answered. “Hey, we got more snow then they thought we would. We actually got about 3 inches out there.”

“No kidding!” I replied, a little dryly. “Don’t you think you started snowblowing a little early? My gosh, it woke me up at 6:45.”

“I didn’t start at 6:45,” he declared.

“Sure you did,” I insisted. “I checked my alarm clock and it said 6:45.”

“Nope,” he said proudly. “I started at 6:30.”

Winter Beauty from the Window

Winter Beauty from the Window

Next time they predict snow, I’m either going to hide the keys to the snowblower or I’m going to hand the man a sleeping bag so he can sleep in the garage next to his beloved snowblower and REALLY get a headstart on things in the morning. Me? I’m going to invest in a good set of earplugs.

Leave a Reply

