Fad Diets I Have Known and Loved

Fighting My Sweet Tooth!

Fighting My Sweet Tooth!

I’m trying to eat healthier this year and as a result, of course, I am obsessing about food.  In between obsessing about all things caloric, I’m been reminiscing about all the diets I’ve tried over the years.  From the sublime to the ridiculous, I think I’ve managed to try most of them.  Walk with me back through the days of yesteryear and let’s take a look at some of them, shall we?

Sliced Cheese and Diet Soda Diet:  This was my diet of choice in college.  Whenever I’d start to put on a little weight, I’d resort to nibbling on slices of cheese and drinking diet sodas for meals.  This only worked once I moved out of the dorm and into a shared apartment.  There was simply too much temptation in the dorm since my meals were provided in the attached cafeteria and I’d never seen so many choices before.  They even served apple pie for breakfast.  I thought I’d died and gone to Heaven.

The Atkins Diet from the ’70’s:  This was the original Atkins Diet where you could eat all the protein you wanted, including butter and cheese.  My typical meals were cheese omelets fried up in butter, boiled hot dogs dipped in ketchup, and tuna fish mixed with real mayo.  I lost a lot of weight on this diet.  It seemed like every day when I’d get on the scale, I was another pound lighter.  Of course, I was also in my 20’s and pretty active.  That might have made a difference.  Problem was that after awhile, I was craving fruit big time!

Cabbage Soup Diet:  My mother and I tried this one year.  I think we both lasted about a week on it.  I might have even lost some weight on it but what I lost in pounds, I gained in gas.  You never want to feed our family cabbage.

Reeses Peanut Butter Cups Diet:  I went on this diet when I was working in London with the Navy.  I was being paid so much per day for food but decided that I wanted to use that money instead to buy clothes and souvenirs.  So instead, I’d eat the free breakfast provided by the hotel and then have peanut butter cups for lunch and also for dinner.  Believe it or not, I actually lost weight on this and came home with a very chic Laura Ashley wardrobe which just goes to show that you can lose weight eating just about anything.

Pecan Pie, Anyone?

Pecan Pie, Anyone?

Raw Foods Diet:  Several years ago, I became convinced that I needed to stop eating processed foods and stick solely with raw foods (not meat but veggies and fruit).  I bought a fancy juicer and went out grocery shopping for greens.  For the first time in my life I felt so virtuous that I could almost see the halo that I felt must surely be hanging over my head.  One of the raw food advocates whose book I was reading was singing the praises of a shake made of all kinds of greens, veggies, lemons, and apples.  The first day I made it, I took a big swig and almost threw up.  Somehow I got it down but I had that taste and smell in my mouth and nostrils for the entire rest of the day.  It was disgusting!  So much for my raw food diet.

A Little Bit of Whatever You Want

A Little Bit of Whatever You Want

Eat Only When Hungry Diet:  Surprisingly, the diet that actually made the most sense to me and worked fairly well was the diet where you can eat whatever you want but the rule is that you can ONLY eat when you are feeling hunger pangs AND you must stop eating when you are satisfied.  You actually end up eating a lot of little meals which often consist of only a few bites but experts have been advocating eating smaller and more frequent meals for some time now.  The problem with this diet was integrating it into the family routine.  If I was out somewhere with my husband, lunchtime might come and go but if I wasn’t feeling hunger pangs, I couldn’t eat.  He, on the other hand, would be famished.  Trying to coordinate our times of hunger was next to impossible.  I also got very tired of trying to defend what I was eating to others.  I’d come back with a little bit of this and that on my plate and my friends would say, “But I thought you were on a diet.”    Again and again, I’d have to explain the concept of being able to eat whatever I wanted but having to stop when full.  After awhile, I just got tired of always being on the defensive.

This is What I'm Up Against!

This is What I'm Up Against!

Ultimately, I think it is probably wise to not let anyone know if you are on a diet, whether it’s a fad diet or not.  That way, when you fall (and you will), you can pick yourself up, brush off your big behind, eat a few more bites of that hot fudge cake with the warm chocolate topping and caramel sauce drizzled over the cake nestled between two scoops of vanilla ice cream, and then get back to your sensible eating plan with no one to berate you.

Enjoy!

One Response

  1. “Ultimately, I think it is probably wise to not let anyone know if you are on a diet, whether it’s a fad diet or not”

    AMEN, Sister! I’ve been on almost all of these plus
    Richard Simmons, Weight Watchers, First Place, etc, etc, etc.

    Sensible eating with reasonable portions and no one the wiser to berate is absolutely the only way to do it. Now if I would just listen and follow those words of wisdom. lol..

Leave a Reply

