Crystal Palace’s New Mini Mochi Yarn

Mini Mochi - Buttery Soft

Mini Mochi - Buttery Soft

I’ve been having fun unpacking my latest yarn order from The Loopy Ewe  http://www.theloopyewe.com/ and one of the treats that came out of the box is this yarn from Crystal Palace.  It’s called Mini Mochi and it knits up into a lovely blended striped knitted fabric.  I first saw it on Wendy Knits’ blog.  You can read about her impressions of this yarn and see some pics of the sock she is working on here http://wendyknits.net/archives/2951 .  Her socks are being knit in a different colorway than the yarn I purchased but you’ll be able to see the lovely way it flows from one color to another.

This yarn is deliciously soft. In that regard, it reminds me of Malabrigo yarn. However, the yarn appears to be fairly uniform in size, whereas Malabrigo can vary in thickness within the same skein. The striping effect reminds me more of Noro yarn but without the scratchiness that Noro can sometimes have. Honestly, I’m sitting here pressing these little puff balls of color to my cheek because I’m a tactile person and I just can’t help myself.

How yummy is this?

How yummy is this?

Mini Mochi is machine washable and is composed of 80% Merino Wool and 20% nylon. No throwing it in the dryer though. You should follow the label instructions and let your knitted garment dry flat. Each ball contains 195 yards of yarn. The gauge given is 7-8 stitches per inch using US needles size 1-2.

I purchased two balls of this and I’m thinking it is going to make a very nice scarf. The price is very attractive, too. At $8.50 a ball, I don’t think you can go wrong with this yummy yarn from Crystal Palace.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

